Wed 21.01.2015 -
19.00 to 21.00

FRSO Susanna Mälkki & Steven Isserlis

Wed 21.01.2015 -
19.00 to 21.00
Estimated duration: 2 hours
Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra
Ticket sales start  
Sat 16.08.2014 - 09.00
From 22.5 €
Cloakroom charge: 2.00 €
Half time: 
Order refreshments »
SSusanna Mälkki conducts Debussy and Saariaho. The soloist in Walton’s cello concerto is ace cellist Steven Isserlis.

Kaija Saariaho’s Circle Map was premiered with Susanna Mälkki conducting in Amsterdam in summer 2012. The introvert cello concerto by William Walton spreads its expansive melodies like an albatross its wings, and Debussy’s melancholy Gigues, serving as a prelude to this, calls forth images of Scottish landscapes. Rondes de Printemps, from the same orchestral suite as Images, offers a promise of spring on a cold January evening.

Text: Lotta Emanuelsson

Organizer contacts:
Claude Debussy
William Walton
Kaija Saariaho
Circle Map
Claude Debussy
Rondes de Printemps
Tickets and costs
Type of ticket: Event with admission fee
Basic ticket: 22.50 € - 32.50 €
Pensioner: 20.50 €
Student: 9.50 €
Serviceman (military or non-military): 9.50 €
Unemployed: 9.50 €

Prices including handling charge

Cloakroom charge: 2.00 €
Season ticket sale time  
Mon, 28.04.2014 - 09:00 to Mon, 11.08.2014 - 23:30
Additional details
Live stream
Stream available for 30 days
Finnish Radion Symphony Orchestra
Susanna Mälkki
Steven Isserlis

See also

Concert Hall
The vineyard-shaped Concert Hall is located in the core of Musiikkitalo. The hall has 1704 seats. Its acoustics have been designed for orchestrall music.
AUF-SARJA: FiBO: Brexit Music
Wed 08.05. 13:00
/ Rehearsal Hall Paavo
From 8 €
Buy tickets
Modulating musical space-time 2 – 2nd post-graduate recital...
Thu 19.09. 19:00
/ Black Box
From 17.5 €
Folk music and world music
Sulasolin yhteislaulut: Keväisin sävelin
Mon 13.05. 18:00
/ Concert Hall
Free entrance